Join our mailing list!

  Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >

Twelve Sense Fields
Twelve Sense Fields

Tibetan: skye mched bcu gnyis
Sanskrit: dvadasha ayatani

Product Code: G00693

Also called the twelve sources of perception.They can be divided in the outer and inner fields.
The six outer (external) (yul drug) (bahira ayatana) are the objects of cognition and the six inner (internal) ( dbang po drug) ( adhyatmika ayatana) are the sense organs.
1. form, gzugs, rupa
2. sound, sgra, shabda
3. odor, dri, gandha
4. taste, ro, rasa
5. object of touch, reg bya, sparsha
6. mental objects, phenomena, chos, dharma.

Inner: 1. eye faculty, mig gi wang po, cakshurindiyam
2. hearing faculty, rna ba' wang po, shrotendriyam
3. smell faculty, sna'i wang po, ghranendriyam
4. taste faculty, lche'i wang po, jihvendriyam
5. touch faculty, lus kyi wang po, kayendriyam
6. mental faculty, yid kyi wang po, mana indriyam

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary