Join our mailing list!

  Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >



Sanskrit: abhibhayatana

Product Code: G00004

abhibhayatana (Skt.). The 'eight masteries', or eight fields of the mastery or control of perception. These are meditational exercises described in the *Pali Canon similar to those using coloured objects (*kasina) but in this case based on features or areas of one's own body as the focus of concentration in order to transcend the Desire Realm (*kama-dhatu). The eight masteries are:
(1) perception of forms (colours and shapes) externally on one's body and limited forms beyond it;
(2) perception of forms externally on one's body and of unlimited external forms beyond it;
(3) the non-perception of forms on one's own body and the perception of small external forms;
(4) the non-perception of forms on one's body and the perception of large external forms;
(5)-(8) no forms are perceived on one's own body but the colours blue, yellow, white, and red are perceived in that order.
Items (5)-(8) are identical with kasina exercises (5)-(8), and with the third stage of the eight liberations (*ashta-vimoksha).

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary