Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >


Tibetan: dgra bcom pa

Product Code: G00042

Worthy one, or "free from four maras," or foe destroyer. An arhat, having exhausted all defilements and mental afflictions, passes into nirvana. Their number and names may vary in different texys and traditions. In Tibetan tradition their number is usually 16.

The sixteen arhats are:
1. Pindola bharadvaja
2. Kanakavatsa
3. Kanaka bharadvja
4. Subindha (Nandimitra)
5. Nakula
6. Bhadra
7. Kalika
8. Vajriputra
9. Gopaka (Jivaka)
10. Panthaka
11. Rahula
12. Nagasena
13. Angaja
14. Vanavasin
15. Ajita
16. Cuda panthaka
Arhati is female.

Related Products....
Sixteen Arhats
By: Doboon Tulku
Paradise and Plumage: Chinese Connections in Tibetan Arhat Painting
By: Rob Linrothe
Our Price: $5.00
Members Price: $4.50

Sale Price: $15.00
Members Price: $15.00

Sixteen Arhats Paradise and Plumage

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary