Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >

Eight Consciousnesses
Eight Consciousnesses

Tibetan: rnam shes tshogs brgyad

Product Code: G00198

The five sense consciousnesses of sight, hearing, smell, taste, touch, and body sensation. The sixth is mental consciousness; the seventh is afflicted consciousness, the klesha mind; and the eighth, the alaya, is the ground consciousness.

1. Sight or eye consciousness, mig gi par shes pa, cakshu vijnana
2. Ear or hearing consciousness, rna wa'i rnam par shes pa, shrotra vijnana
3. Smell or nose consciousness, sna'i rnam par shes pa, ghrana vijnana
4. Taste or tongue consciousness, lce'i rnam par shes pa, jihva vijnana
5. Touch or body consciousness, lus kyi rnam par shes pa, kaya vijnana
6. Mental consciousness, yid kyi rnam par shes pa, mano vijnana
7. Afflicted consciousness, nyon yid rnam par shes pa, klesha vijnana
8. Ground or 'base of all' consciousness, kun gzhi rnam par shes pa, alaya vijnana

See book: Five Buddha Families and the Eight Consciousnesses

Related Products....
Five Buddha Families and the Eight Consciousnesses
By: Thrangu Rinpoche
Our Price: $12.00
Members Price: $10.80

Five Buddha Families and the Eight Consciousnesses

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary