Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >

Five Wisdoms
Five Wisdoms

Tibetan: ye shes lnga
Sanskrit: panca jnanani

Product Code: G00256

Five types of fundamentally pure awareness that are ever-present within all sentient beings. Normally obscured by karmic defilements and bewilderment, the five wisdoms manifest as the five kleshas. The five wisdoms are:

1. dharmadhatu wisdom, dharmadhatu jnanam
2. mirror-like wisdom, me long lta bu'i ye shes, adarsha jnanam
3. wisdom of equanimity, mnyam nyid ye shes, samata jnanam
4. discriminating wisdom, sor rtogs ye shes, pratyavekshana jnanam
5. all-accomplishing wisdom, bya sgrub ye shes, krityanusthana jnanam
They should not be understood as separate entities but rather as different functions of one's enlightened essence. Each of the five wisdoms is closely associated with one of the five buddha families.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary