Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >

Six Realms
Six Realms

Tibetan: khams drug

Product Code: G00593

The six realms of samsaric existence as shown on the Wheel of Life. The god realm is the highest of the six realms, the beings are dominated by pride and suffer because they will fall to the lower realms. In the asura realm, the beings are dominated by jealousy and envy and suffer as a result of their constant quarreling and fighting. The human realm is characterized by desire and attachment, and although the beings suffer from ceaseless struggle, it is the best rebirth because one has the opportunity to practice Dharma. The animal realm is dominated by ignorance and stupidity; beings there suffer from constant fear. The hungry ghost realm is dominated by greed, and the preta beings suffer terribly from hunger and thirst. The lowest of the realms, the hell realm, is dominated by hatred and aggression, and the beings endure intense suffering.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary