Home > Buddhist Glossary > Terms >

Three Councils
Three Councils

Tibetan: bka' bsdu gsum
Sanskrit: tisrah samgitayah

Product Code: G00667

1. First was held in Rajagriha ( present day Rajgir), following the year after Buddha Shakyamuni's parinirvana, during the reign of King Ajatashatru. Ananda recited the collection of sutra teachings and Upali the Abhidharma teachings
2. Second at Vaishali, during the reign of Vigatashoka (Ashoka), 110 years later
3. Third council was held at Pataliputra, during the reign of Kanishka, 137 years after Buddha Shakyamuni's parinirvana, the main purpose of this council was to harmonize the different schools.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Terms
Buddhist Glossary