Home > Buddhist Glossary > Masters >

Sixteen Arhats
Sixteen Arhats


Product Code: G00596

Arhat means worthy one, or "free from four maras," An arhat, having exhausted all defilements and mental afflictions, passes into nirvana. Their number and names may vary in different texys and traditions. In Tibetan tradition their number is usually 16. The sixteen arhats are:
1. Pindola bharadvaja
2. Kanakavatsa
3. Kanaka bharadvja
4. Subindha (Nandimitra)
5. Nakula
6. Bhadra
7. Kalika
8. Vajriputra
9. Gopaka (Jivaka)
10. Panthaka
11. Rahula
12. Nagasena
13. Angaja
14. Vanavasin
15. Ajita
16. Cuda panthaka

Related Products....
Paradise and Plumage: Chinese Connections in Tibetan Arhat Painting
By: Rob Linrothe
Sixteen Arhats
By: Doboon Tulku
Sale Price: $15.00
Members Price: $15.00

Our Price: $5.00
Members Price: $4.50

Paradise and Plumage Sixteen Arhats

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Buddhist Glossary > Masters
Buddhist Glossary